The Investor: Know for what?

The school intends to inform its students and the education we care about is about training and not about information.

Image: "The Bird of Self-Knowledge", Anonymous, 18th century. Wikimedia Commons

It's not about what I know, it's about what I do with what I know.

The school does not fail because it does what it intends to do wrong, it fails because what is proposed is not worth it. Too bad, it's a planning problem. Not of planning as she likes to understand it (correlate rigorously some things with the others and make them fit in some type of non-negotiable determinant, be it time or concept), but of planning in the sense of not getting right in the definition of the purpose .

The school intends to inform its students and the education we care about is about training and not about information.

Erudition is not useless only in its neurotic excesses, it is always useless if we understand information without application as erudition. Passing a test at school is useless, except for the approval itself. The same college entrance exams and stuff. Many of the educational tools justify themselves and the institutional solipsism of the school reaches scandalous levels at this point, if not pathetic. It is a sick and obsessive system that has lost all context record; On the contrary, day by day is reinforced in its own self-referential dynamics. He is afraid. And paradoxically, that fear is his most honest and true record.

Even in the face of information, the school already makes serious mistakes. It has been set in a fallen scenario and does not register it. The first error is the source error. The school believes that the most useful information source is unique, curated and stable; They do not serve you or know how to deal with the immeasurable dynamic and cross-sources of information that our society has today. He prefers the textbook (even if its edition dates back 6 years) to any other current source, be it a newspaper of the day or 2 days or just Twitter, not to mention Google and its infinite tributaries. He still believes - anchored in Diderot - that a "serious" source is worth more than the melting pot of current sources, pierced by the social complexity of the issue. He believes that this everlasting didactic encyclopedia that is the textbook is worth more than the open staged effervescence that Wikipedia reflects on - for example - the Israel-Jordan conflict. The school does not understand that the information it applies is not the blessed, but the information that is traversed by its own complexity; that the information that serves is that of the interstices between one fixed position and the other, that which shows and demonstrates its instability, the uncontrollable speed rash and as always, also its metaphysics and inherent ambiguity. The school does not understand that unfinished is not synonymous with useless.

The second error is structural. The school believes that what informs us is the simplifying synthesis of a topic, its allegedly final flat taxonomy, and not its rich course, the openness of its discussion, the complex and diversified plot of its construction. That is why school sources are always closed taxonomies, as if there were no conflict or interpretations and as if all the debates were closed; Therefore, school supplies are illegible and unbearably boring. There are three types of love: the subsidiary, the friendly and the passionate ... as if it were true; as if they did not mix all the time, as if there were no nuances, interstices, hybridities and new formations that dynamit the taxonomy. As if those silly taxonomies, with a countenance of wise, that reduce our love to a closed classification, were of any use. And if they end love, imagine what they don't do with Mexican history of the twentieth century.

Knowledge is a social product, a consequence of the social game. Objective information is just an unimportant reference to the concept of information . Most of the time it doesn't matter what happened - let's think about history, but what happened to what happened and what was said about what happened and what happened to what was said to happen ... And true is everything, even what was denied was said about what was supposed, even falsely, that had happened.

And the third error is process. The school assumes that the useful relationship with the information is the retention of the data. But it is forgotten that more than the data, the process of data construction matters; and also forget that the data, isolated from the complex plot of data that surrounds it, is absolutely meaningless and worthless. Big mistake. That it does not matter to remember that Zedillo was the Mexican president of the period as and such, regardless of what was happening in Mexico and in the world during those times; where Zedillo came from, a solution to what previous conflict it entailed and - as always in Mexico - what Zedillo meant for the PRI; and finally, where did that 'Zedillo experience' end up? That any data isolated from its context, which is an important part of its meaning, is the same as nothing and computable at zero. What does it matter on January 10 if I forget or don't know what my son Mateo's birthday is?

But we also said that the data outside the construction process is irrelevant, and it is true. Reaching the Pythagorean theorem demonstration is infinitely more significant (in addition to beautiful, exciting, etc.) than knowing that the sum of the squares of the legs ... The legs immediately become cathetes if I do not do anything meaningful with them. The same is the epicycles, the integrals, the democratic models or the galaxies. The school confuses all the time process with result.

We said that the information is irrelevant next to the training and I want to end this. To be trained is to be able to do what I have. Produce, create or whatever we want to call it. The information that serves us is that we use to go somewhere; and that part is valuable, not that input. We can call that process mobilization; that knowledge or competence is the mobilization of information at the service of some significant production / construction. Therefore, the school we need must prepare its students to mobilize their informational baggage at the service of their own construction process. It's about undertaking somewhere.

That is, information as a starting point and not as a point of arrival. And the institutional verification of the process - which we call evaluation - must be carried out on the mobilization process and not on the source of support.

The school believes that information tempers people and that the quiet accumulation of it (which we call scholarship) makes us charismatic. But he is wrong. Information without training, that is, without mobilization and articulation capacity, in low doses is only useless and in high doses it is pathetic. The only fertile land for information is intelligence, which is the power towards entrepreneurship. Create - we call it. That is why we cannot guarantee schools that accumulate pressure information in heads not sufficiently stimulated in their urgent intelligence.

Author's Twitter: @dobertipablo

L'investisseur: savoir pour quoi?

L'école a l'intention d'informer ses élèves et l'éducation qui nous intéresse concerne la formation et non l'information.

Image: "L'oiseau de la connaissance de soi", Anonyme, XVIIIe siècle. Wikimedia Commons

Il ne s'agit pas de ce que je sais, mais de ce que je fais avec ce que je sais.

L'école n'échoue pas parce qu'elle fait ce qu'elle a l'intention de faire de mal, elle échoue parce que ce qui est proposé n'en vaut pas la peine. Dommage, c'est un problème de planification. Pas de planification comme elle aime le comprendre (corréler rigoureusement certaines choses avec d'autres et les faire correspondre à un type de déterminant non négociable, qu'il s'agisse de temps ou de concept), mais de planification en ce sens qu'elle ne définit pas correctement l'objectif .

L'école a l'intention d'informer ses élèves et l'éducation qui nous intéresse concerne la formation et non l'information.

L’érudition n’est pas inutile seulement dans ses excès névrotiques, elle est toujours inutile si nous comprenons l’information sans application comme érudition. Passer un test à l’école est inutile, sauf pour l’approbation elle-même. Les mêmes examens d’entrée au collège et autres. De nombreux outils pédagogiques se justifient et le solipsisme institutionnel de l'école atteint des niveaux scandaleux à ce stade, voire pathétiques. C'est un système malade et obsessionnel qui a perdu tout enregistrement de contexte; Au contraire, jour après jour se renforce sa propre dynamique auto-référentielle. Il a peur. Et paradoxalement, cette peur est son bilan le plus honnête et le plus fidèle.

Même face à l'information, l'école fait déjà de graves erreurs. Il a été placé dans un scénario déchu et ne l'enregistre pas. La première erreur est l'erreur de source. L'école estime que la source d'informations la plus utile est unique, organisée et stable; Ils ne vous servent pas et ne savent pas comment gérer la dynamique incommensurable et les sources croisées d'informations dont dispose notre société aujourd'hui. Il préfère le manuel (même si son édition remonte à 6 ans) à toute autre source actuelle, que ce soit un journal du jour ou 2 jours, ou tout simplement Twitter, sans parler de Google et de ses affluents infinis. Il croit toujours - ancré dans Diderot - qu'une source "sérieuse" vaut plus que le creuset des sources actuelles, transpercée par la complexité sociale du problème. Il croit que cette encyclopédie didactique éternelle qu'est le manuel a plus de valeur que l'effervescence ouverte mise en scène sur laquelle Wikipédia réfléchit - par exemple - le conflit Israël-Jordanie. L’école ne comprend pas que les informations qu’elle applique ne sont pas des bénédictions, mais des informations traversées par sa propre complexité; que les informations utiles sont celles des interstices entre une position fixe et une autre, ce qui montre et démontre son instabilité, son éruption de vitesse incontrôlable et, comme toujours, sa métaphysique et son ambiguïté inhérente. L'école ne comprend pas qu'inachevé n'est pas synonyme d'inutile.

La deuxième erreur est structurelle. L’école estime que ce qui nous informe est la synthèse simplificatrice d’un sujet, sa taxonomie plate prétendument finale, et non son parcours riche, l’ouverture de sa discussion, le complot complexe et diversifié de sa construction. C'est pourquoi les sources scolaires sont toujours des taxonomies fermées, comme s'il n'y avait pas de conflit ou d'interprétation et comme si tous les débats étaient fermés; Par conséquent, les fournitures scolaires sont illisibles et extrêmement ennuyeuses. Il existe trois types d’amour: la filiale, l’amical et le passionné… comme si c’était vrai; comme s'ils ne se mélangeaient pas tout le temps, comme s'il n'y avait pas de nuances, d'interstices, d'hybridités et de nouvelles formations dynamisant la taxonomie. Comme si ces taxonomies idiotes, avec une mine de sage, qui réduisent notre amour à un classement fermé, avaient une quelconque utilité. Et s'ils finissent l'amour, imaginez ce qu'ils ne font pas avec l'histoire mexicaine du XXe siècle.

La connaissance est un produit social, une conséquence du jeu social. L'information objective est simplement une référence sans importance au concept d' information . La plupart du temps, peu importe ce qui est arrivé - pensons à l'histoire, mais à ce qui est arrivé et ce qui a été dit à propos de ce qui s'est passé et à ce qui est arrivé à ce qui est censé se passer ... Et vrai, c'est tout, même ce qui était nié, c'était ce qui était supposé, même faussement, être arrivé.

Et la troisième erreur est un processus. L'école suppose que la relation utile avec l'information est la conservation des données. Mais on oublie que plus que les données, le processus de construction des données est important; et oubliez aussi que les données, isolées du complot complexe de données qui l’entoure, sont absolument sans signification et sans valeur. Grosse erreur. Peu importait de se souvenir que Zedillo était le président mexicain de l’époque en tant que telle, indépendamment de ce qui se passait au Mexique et dans le monde à cette époque; d’où vient Zedillo, une solution au conflit précédent qu’il impliquait et - comme toujours au Mexique - ce que Zedillo signifiait pour le PRI; et finalement, où s'est passée cette "expérience de Zedillo"? Que toute donnée isolée de son contexte, qui est une partie importante de sa signification, est la même chose que rien et est calculable à zéro. Qu'importe le 10 janvier si j'oublie ou ne sais pas quel est l'anniversaire de mon fils Mateo?

Mais nous avons également dit que les données en dehors du processus de construction ne sont pas pertinentes, et c'est vrai. Atteindre la démonstration du théorème de Pythagore est infiniment plus significatif (en plus d'être beau, excitant, etc.) que de savoir que la somme des carrés des jambes ... Les jambes deviennent immédiatement cathètes si je ne fais rien de significatif avec elles. Les mêmes sont les épicycles, les intégrales, les modèles démocratiques ou les galaxies. L'école confond tout le processus du temps avec le résultat.

Nous avons dit que l'information n'était pas pertinente à côté de la formation et je veux mettre fin à cela. Être formé, c'est pouvoir faire ce que j'ai. Produire, créer ou peu importe comment nous voulons l'appeler. L'information qui nous sert est que nous avions l'habitude d'aller quelque part; et cette partie est précieuse, pas cette entrée. Nous pouvons appeler ce processus la mobilisation; cette connaissance ou compétence est la mobilisation de l'information au service d'une production / construction significative. Par conséquent, l’école dont nous avons besoin doit préparer ses étudiants à mobiliser leurs bagages d’information au service de leur propre processus de construction. Il s'agit d'entreprendre quelque part.

C’est-à-dire que l’information est un point de départ et non un point d’arrivée. Et la vérification institutionnelle du processus - que nous appelons évaluation - doit être effectuée sur le processus de mobilisation et non sur la source de soutien.

L'école croit que l'information tempère les gens et que son accumulation discrète (que nous appelons l'érudition) nous rend charismatiques. Mais il a tort. L'information sans formation, c'est-à-dire sans capacité de mobilisation et d'articulation, à faible dose est inutile et à forte dose, elle est pathétique. La seule terre fertile pour l'information est l'intelligence, qui est le pouvoir de l'entrepreneuriat. Créer - nous l'appelons. C'est pourquoi nous ne pouvons pas garantir aux écoles qui accumulent des informations de pression des têtes qui ne sont pas suffisamment stimulées par leur intelligence urgente.

Twitter de l'auteur: @dobertipablo