Is the world real? Are the soul and God the same? Shankara vs Ramanuja: the big dispute in the heart of Hinduism

An introduction to the deepest metaphysics of Vedanta, represented by two of its greatest exponents: Shankara and Ramanuja


What is the nature of the Absolute? What is the ultimate destiny of the soul and the cosmos? Is the soul different from God? Is the cosmos anything other than God? What is the highest state of all? Or, in other words, what is liberation, moksha, mystical union, soul deification? Is the world real? Is God personal or impersonal, does he have form or transcend all knowledge? These questions are the very substance of the highest metaphysical speculation in all religious traditions. In India, tradition holds that the answer to all of them is contained in the Upanishad. The Upanishad are the texts that seek to elucidate and extract the essence of the Vedas, which is why they are known as Vedanta, the culmination of the Vedas. However, the Upanishad are not mere comments. They are associated with the esoteric teachings received by disciples sitting around a teacher in the forest; and with the same path of the renunciate, who leaves the material world to devote himself exclusively to the liberation of the soul. Shankara, generally considered the greatest teacher of Vedanta, gives a revealing etymology for the word " sad ": that which destroys or unleashes all ties. For many academics they constitute a kind of leap in the reflective consciousness of humanity, a step of observing the outer nature, full of awe, towards self-observation or contemplation of the inner nature, of one's own conscience. Just the opposite movement that currently leads Western science, which, therefore not strangely, considers consciousness as an enigma, "the hard problem of science." Professor Radhakrishnan, who was also prime minister of India, talks about this turn that would have occurred about 2 800 800 years ago

While the poets of the Vedas tell us about the multiplicity in which the luminosity of the Supreme has been divided, the philosophers of the Upanishad tell us about the Unique Reality that underlies and transcends the flow of the world.

A step from multiplicity to unity and "from the objective to the subjective", in which the Vedic sacrifice ( yajna ) - around which the whole religious life of the Vedic man revolved - ceases to be only an external act that requires of a complicated series of ritual procedures, to also be understood as an internal operation, a meditation on the self, a particular intensity of consciousness. The contemplatives of the Upanishad make the great discovery that life is essentially about knowing oneself, but not because of an individualistic or utilitarian issue, but because doing so obtains knowledge "of the universe and of God", by playing with a phrase of the Pythagorean tradition. The Self, Atman, has a deep identity with the Absolute, Brahman.

Although for the different Hindu schools, the Upanishad have indisputable authority, these texts do not exhibit a systematic theology that does not allow numerous interpretations. That is why Hindu philosophy can basically be considered a series of comments or footnotes of the Upanishad philosophy, even more bluntly than the fact that Western philosophy is a series of footnotes to Plato's philosophy, such as Whitehead said. The text considered with the authority to elucidate the most delicate issues of the Upanishad is the Vedanta-sutra or Brahma-sutra, of Badarayana, the text that supposedly systematizes and synthesizes the Upanishad . Now, this text is composed of enigmatic short phrases, which in turn require elucidation. Hence the great philosophical currents of Hinduism are divided precisely in their interpretation of these sutras.

There are numerous comments from Vedanta-sutra, all the philosophical schools that arise feel the need to produce a comment to legitimize themselves and postulate an uninterrupted continuity with the original spread of the Rishis, the great sages who saw the hymns of the Vedas . It is generally considered that the commentary of Shankara, the first known in the eighth century, that of Ramanuja, in the eleventh century, and that of Madhva, in the thirteenth century, are the most important, each of these philosophers being founders from his own school, Advaita Vedanta (non-dual Vedanta), Vishishtadvaita (or Qualified Advaita Vedanta) and Dvaita (or dualism, respectively).

In this article we will not consider the reading of Madhva, only that of Shankara and that of Ramanuja. Undoubtedly, the interpretation of Shankara is the one that has achieved the greatest fame, to the point of being identified as one with the "sanatana dharma", the eternal dharma of India who came to the West through teachers like Ramakrishna and was assimilated to the " perennial philosophy "by Guenon, Coomaraswamy, Schuon and others. However, the interpretation of Ramanuja, who directly criticizes Shankara, is extremely relevant for interreligious dialogue, since it has notable parallels with the theology of some Church fathers and offers a closer view of the ultimate reality of what what we can call, with Hans Urs von Balthasar, a theology of beauty, where the perception of form plays a central role, since it is the act of participation in divine glory.

Shankara, who is the most influential Indian thinker after the Buddha, according to Professor Dasgupta, points out that it is necessary to distinguish when the Upanishads refer to absolute reality or truth and when they refer to relative reality or truth. Once the highest philosophy they teach can be distinguished, the texts can be read without confusion as presenting a non-dual vision of reality in which the soul and the Brahman (God, but in an impersonal sense) are identical and where Absolute has no form. Shankara quotes some verses from the Brihadaranyaka Upanishad that say: "Well, where there is duality, as if it were, one sees another, but when everything has become the being itself, then who or what would one see?" . In other words, the ultimate state of liberation, from a non-dual perspective, necessarily implies the fusion or identity of the soul with the Brahman. And this eliminates all perception, all knowledge, for knowledge implies a subject and an object and in the last state there is only one single Self, homogeneous, which is pure consciousness without difference. This state, which is certainly unimaginable for our discursive intelligence, has been compared to deep sleep - which, however, is not considered as an amnesic or unconscious state, but as unchanging bliss, turiya, mysterious fourth state; and the destiny of the soul has been compared with that of a drop that falls into the sea or with a grain of salt that dissolves in a glass of water.

It is popularly said that there are about 330 million gods in India (a figure that must have increased with the demographic explosion of the modern era!). A jungle of deities that corresponds perfectly to the enormous abundance of that land and the great devotion of its inhabitants. However, for Shankara none of those deities exist absolutely. It is not that they are mere hallucinations or that the universe does not have a divine source, but that for Shankara all manifestations of gods such as Vishnu, Krishna - of whom he was probably devoted - or Shiva - of whom tradition says he was avatar - are projections or relative aspects of this transcendent unconditional reality called Brahman. (Now, we as individuals are even less real than these gods who at least realize the Maya, the illusion produced by the world of multiplicity whenever there is ignorance of the original condition). God, for Shankara, is not a person and has no form. The multiple divine manifestations, "the 330 thousand faces of God, " and even Ishvara, the lord of the universe, can only be dissolved when the highest wisdom is reached. This wisdom is expressed in one of the central sayings of advaita vedanta: "Brahman is real; the world is a false projection; the individual soul is exactly the same as Brahman."

Although Shankara taught or at least tolerated devotion to a personal god as part of a preliminary path, especially appropriate for people of lower faculties, the idea of ​​sustaining a personal relationship with God and perceiving the deity separated from oneself contradicts and lowers the status of an authentic advaitin, whose Self is indistinct of God. Atman is Brahman, the individual Self is identical to God. "All discussions of Brahman characterized with distinctions such as devotee and object of devotion are part of a state of ignorance." After all, for Shankara, God could not be perceived as anything other than the unique reality, that the Self that is one and is everything and therefore devotion, bhakti, was a state inferior to jnana, gnosis .

The latter was precisely the problem Ramanuja had with Shankara, since Ramanuja was first and foremost a great bhakta, a devotee of Vishnu. According to tradition, Ramanuja himself was initiated in the Advaita Vedanta but considered that a state even higher than the state of total integration in the Brahman was the devotion to that divinity that is everything, which shines in the heart of the devotee but which in turn transcends the world. For Ramanuja, devotion is not only a path to liberation, it is the activity of the state of liberation itself: worshiping and contemplating the beauty of God in eternity, participating in its nature but not merging into it. This is a qualified non-duality, being part of the body of God, but not absolutely equal to him. Souls are for Ramanuja the accessories, the subsidiaries ( shesa ) of God.

In Ramanuja's theological vision, the world is real: it is the body of Bhagavan or Ishvara, of God, of the Controller of the universe. This is not a pantheism like Spinoza's, since the body of God is not absolutely identical to nature and the soul is not identical to God, there is an "identity in difference", and divinity transcends the universe; As Krishna says in the Gita, this universe is just like a pearl in a necklace that has the deity as its support. For Ramanuja, the body is everything that can be controlled, and uses the metaphor of the charioteer and the carriage with horses: there is a controller, but on the other hand there is a kind of freedom to resist or accept and align with the will of the controller . This relationship is analogous: God is like the controller of the soul and the world, in the same way that the individual soul controls the body. The freedom that man has in this relationship is to respond to God's love with love, according to Lipner. It is this same freedom that allows us to have a personal relationship and fulfill the destiny of the soul, which is to glorify God. Lipner suggests that Ramanuja's theology is a polarity theology, and that the great vedantin bhakta feels comfortable in the realm of paradox and mystery. And isn't our existence like that? We can see that there is a superior will, a supreme force that moves the world and moves in us, a Being that gives us our being, but still our individual lives have a unique meaning and purpose, although only as parts of the body of the body. deity, as part of the enterprise of absolute consciousness, of the infinite light that the world creates by playing, as Badarayana himself says, to his own delight.

To conclude, it remains only to say that while the non-dual vedanta system, which I have not been able to do justice in this brief outline, is one of the highest lights in the history of thought and could seem the most perfect of these two systems, Ramanuja's system has at least the advantage of allowing a soteriological state in which there is a form of communion and contemplation of divinity, ecstasy and aesthetic enjoyment, in which the soul maintains a certain ontological quality and is not reduced to a unit in which it is difficult to preach any positive quality. Shankara's path is more similar to the apophatic path of great mystics such as Dionysius the Areopagite and Meister Eckhart and that of Ramanuja to that of St. Augustine, for whom the ultimate goal of existence was the contemplation of God in the civitate Dei, with a body spiritual, in eternal bliss.

Author's Twitter: @alepholo

Bibliography

JJ Lipner, The World as God's Body, In Pursuit of Dialogue with Rāmānuja .

The Principal Upanisads, translation and introduction of S. Radhakrishnan.

The Vedanta Sutras, translation by G. Thibaut.

Le monde est-il réel? Est-ce que l'âme et Dieu sont pareils? Shankara vs Ramanuja: le grand conflit au cœur de l'hindouisme

Une introduction à la métaphysique la plus profonde de Vedanta, représentée par deux de ses plus grands représentants: Shankara et Ramanuja


Quelle est la nature de l'Absolu? Quel est le destin ultime de l'âme et du cosmos? L'âme est-elle différente de Dieu? Le cosmos est-il autre chose que Dieu? Quel est l'état le plus élevé de tous? Ou, en d'autres termes, qu'est-ce que la libération, moksha, union mystique, déification de l'âme? Le monde est-il réel? Dieu est-il personnel ou impersonnel, a-t-il une forme ou transcende-t-il toute la connaissance? Ces questions sont la substance même de la plus haute spéculation métaphysique de toutes les traditions religieuses. En Inde, la tradition veut que la réponse à toutes ces questions soit contenue dans les Upanishad. Les Upanishad sont les textes qui cherchent à élucider et à extraire l'essence des Vedas, c'est pourquoi ils sont connus sous le nom de Vedanta, le point culminant des Vedas. Cependant, les Upanishad ne sont pas de simples commentaires. Ils sont associés aux enseignements ésotériques reçus par les disciples assis autour d'un enseignant dans la forêt; et avec le même chemin de renoncé qui quitte le monde matériel pour se consacrer exclusivement à la libération de l'âme. Shankara, généralement considéré comme le plus grand enseignant du Vedanta, donne une étymologie révélatrice pour le mot " triste ": ce qui détruit ou libère tous les liens. Pour de nombreux universitaires, elles constituent une sorte de saut dans la conscience réflexive de l'humanité, une étape d'observation de la nature extérieure, pleine de crainte, vers l'observation de soi ou la contemplation de la nature intérieure, de sa propre conscience. Le mouvement opposé à la tête de la science occidentale, qui considère donc étrangement la conscience comme une énigme, "le difficile problème de la science". Le professeur Radhakrishnan, qui était également Premier ministre de l'Inde, parle de ce tournant qui aurait eu lieu il y a environ 2 800 800 ans

Tandis que les poètes des Védas nous parlent de la multiplicité dans laquelle la luminosité du Suprême a été divisée, les philosophes des Upanishad nous parlent de la réalité unique qui sous-tend et transcende le flux du monde.

Un pas de la multiplicité à l’unité et «de l’objectif au subjectif», dans lequel le sacrifice védique ( yajna ) - autour duquel toute la vie religieuse de l’homme védique a tourné - cesse d’être un acte extérieur qui exige d'une série complexe de procédures rituelles, à comprendre également comme une opération interne, une méditation sur le soi, une intensité de conscience particulière. Les contemplatifs de l’ Upanishad font la grande découverte que la vie consiste essentiellement à se connaître soi-même, non pas à cause d’un problème individualiste ou utilitaire, mais parce qu’elle obtient la connaissance "de l’univers et de Dieu" en jouant avec phrase de la tradition pythagoricienne. Le Soi, Atman, a une identité profonde avec l'Absolu, Brahman.

Bien que pour les différentes écoles hindoues, les Upanishad aient une autorité incontestable, ces textes ne présentent pas une théologie systématique qui ne permet pas de nombreuses interprétations. C'est pourquoi la philosophie hindoue peut être fondamentalement considérée comme une série de commentaires ou de notes de bas de page de la philosophie Upanishad, encore plus brutalement que le fait que la philosophie occidentale est une série de notes de bas de page à la philosophie de Platon, telles que Dit Whitehead. Le texte considéré avec le pouvoir d'élucider les questions les plus délicates de l' Upanishad est le Vedanta-sutra ou Brahma-sutra de Badarayana, le texte censé systématiser et synthétiser l' Upanishad . Or, ce texte est composé de phrases énigmatiques courtes, qui nécessitent à leur tour une clarification. C'est pourquoi les grands courants philosophiques de l'hindouisme sont précisément divisés dans leur interprétation de ces sutras.

Il y a de nombreux commentaires de Vedanta-sutra, toutes les écoles philosophiques qui se font jour ressentent le besoin de produire un commentaire pour se légitimer et postuler une continuité ininterrompue avec la propagation initiale des Rishis, les grands sages qui ont vu les hymnes des Védas . On considère généralement que le commentaire de Shankara, le premier connu au VIIIe siècle, celui de Ramanuja au XIe siècle et celui de Madhva au XIIIe siècle sont les plus importants, chacun de ces philosophes étant ses fondateurs. de sa propre école, Advaita Vedanta (non-dual Vedanta), Vishishtadvaita (ou Qualified Advaita Vedanta) et Dvaita (ou dualisme, respectivement).

Dans cet article, nous ne considérerons pas la lecture de Madhva, seulement celle de Shankara et celle de Ramanuja. Sans aucun doute, l'interprétation de Shankara est celle qui a acquis la plus grande renommée, au point d'être identifiée comme faisant partie du "sanatana dharma", le dharma éternel de l'Inde qui est venu en Occident par l'intermédiaire d'enseignants comme Ramakrishna et qui a été assimilé au "dharma". philosophie éternelle "de Guenon, Coomaraswamy, Schuon et autres. Cependant, l'interprétation de Ramanuja, qui critique directement Shankara, est extrêmement pertinente pour le dialogue interreligieux, car elle présente des parallèles notables avec la théologie de certains pères de l'Église et offre une vision plus proche de la réalité ultime de ce que Ce que nous pouvons appeler, avec Hans Urs von Balthasar, une théologie de la beauté, où la perception de la forme joue un rôle central puisqu'il s'agit de l'acte de participation à la gloire divine.

Shankara, qui est le penseur indien le plus influent après le Bouddha, selon le professeur Dasgupta, souligne qu'il est nécessaire de distinguer lorsque les Upanishads se réfèrent à la réalité absolue ou à la vérité et lorsqu'ils se réfèrent à la réalité ou à la vérité relative. Une fois que la plus haute philosophie qu’ils enseignent peut être distinguée, les textes peuvent être lus sans confusion comme présentant une vision non dualiste de la réalité dans laquelle l’âme et le Brahman (Dieu, mais dans un sens impersonnel) sont identiques et où L'absolu n'a pas de forme. Shankara cite des vers de Brihadaranyaka Upanishad qui disent: "Eh bien, là où il y a une dualité, comme si c'était, on en voit une autre, mais quand tout est devenu l'être même, alors qui ou que verrait-on?" . En d'autres termes, l'état ultime de libération, dans une perspective non-duelle, implique nécessairement la fusion ou l'identité de l'âme avec le Brahman. Et cela élimine toute perception, toute connaissance, car la connaissance implique un sujet et un objet et dans le dernier état, il n'y a qu'un seul Soi, homogène, qui est une conscience pure sans différence. Cet état, qui est certainement inimaginable pour notre intelligence discursive, a été comparé au sommeil profond - qui, cependant, n'est pas considéré comme un état amnésique ou inconscient, mais comme une félicité immuable, turiya, quatrième état mystérieux; et le destin de l'âme a été comparé à celui d'une goutte qui tombe dans la mer ou d'un grain de sel qui se dissout dans un verre d'eau.

On dit généralement qu'il y a environ 330 millions de dieux en Inde (chiffre qui a dû augmenter avec l'explosion démographique de l'ère moderne!). Une jungle de divinités qui correspond parfaitement à l'énorme abondance de ce pays et à la grande dévotion de ses habitants. Cependant, pour Shankara, aucune de ces divinités n’existent de façon absolue. Ce n'est pas qu'il s'agisse d'hallucinations ou que l'univers n'a pas de source divine, mais que, pour Shankara, toutes les manifestations de dieux tels que Vishnu, Krishna - dont il était probablement dévoué - ou Shiva - et dont la tradition dit qu'il est un avatar - sont des projections ou des aspects relatifs de cette réalité inconditionnelle transcendante appelée Brahman. (Maintenant, en tant qu'individus, nous sommes encore moins réels que ces dieux qui réalisent au moins Maya, l'illusion produite par le monde de la multiplicité chaque fois qu'il y a une ignorance de la condition d'origine). Pour Shankara, Dieu n'est pas une personne et n'a pas de forme. Les multiples manifestations divines, "les 330 000 visages de Dieu" et même Ishvara, le seigneur de l'univers, ne peuvent être dissoutes que lorsque la plus haute sagesse est atteinte. Cette sagesse est exprimée dans l'une des paroles centrales de l'advaita vedanta: "Brahman est réel; le monde est une fausse projection; l'âme individuelle est exactement la même chose que Brahman."

Bien que Shankara ait enseigné ou au moins toléré la dévotion à un dieu personnel dans le cadre d’une voie préliminaire particulièrement appropriée aux personnes de facultés inférieures, l’idée de maintenir une relation personnelle avec Dieu et de percevoir la divinité séparée de soi se contredit et s’abaisse. le statut d'un advaitin authentique, dont le Soi est indistinct de Dieu. Atman est Brahman, le moi individuel est identique à Dieu. "Toutes les discussions sur Brahman caractérisées par des distinctions telles que dévot et objet de dévotion font partie d'un état d'ignorance." Après tout, pour Shankara, Dieu ne pouvait être perçu que comme une réalité unique, à savoir que le Soi qui est un et est tout et donc la dévotion, bhakti, était un état inférieur à jnana, gnose. .

Ce dernier était précisément le problème que Ramanuja avait avec Shankara, puisque Ramanuja était avant tout un grand bhakta, un adepte de Vishnu. Selon la tradition, Ramanuja lui-même a été initié dans le Advaita Vedanta, mais considérait qu'un état encore supérieur à l'état d'intégration totale dans le Brahman était la dévotion à cette divinité qui est tout, qui brille dans le cœur du dévot mais qui à son tour transcende le monde. Pour Ramanuja, la dévotion n’est pas seulement un chemin de libération, c’est l’activité même de l’état de libération: adorer et contempler la beauté de Dieu dans l’éternité, participer à sa nature mais ne pas s’y fondre. C'est une non-dualité qualifiée, faisant partie du corps de Dieu, mais pas absolument égale à lui. Les âmes sont pour Ramanuja les accessoires, les filiales ( shesa ) de Dieu.

Dans la vision théologique de Ramanuja, le monde est réel: c'est le corps de Bhagavan ou Ishvara, de Dieu, du Contrôleur de l'univers. Ce n'est pas un panthéisme comme celui de Spinoza, puisque le corps de Dieu n'est pas absolument identique à la nature et que l'âme n'est pas identique à Dieu, il existe une "identité en différence" et la divinité transcende l'univers; Comme Krishna le dit dans la Gita, cet univers est comme une perle dans un collier qui a pour support la divinité. Pour Ramanuja, le corps est tout ce qui peut être contrôlé et utilise la métaphore du conducteur de char et du transport de chevaux: il y a un contrôleur, mais il existe en revanche une sorte de liberté pour résister ou accepter et s'aligner sur la volonté du contrôleur . Cette relation est analogue: Dieu est comme le contrôleur de l'âme et du monde, de la même manière que l'âme individuelle contrôle le corps. La liberté que l'homme a dans cette relation est de répondre à l'amour de Dieu avec amour, selon Lipner. C'est cette même liberté qui nous permet d'entretenir des relations personnelles et d'accomplir le destin de l'âme, qui est de glorifier Dieu. Lipner suggère que la théologie de Ramanuja est une théologie de polarité et que le grand vedantin bhakta se sent à l'aise dans le domaine du paradoxe et du mystère. Et notre existence n'est-elle pas comme ça? Nous pouvons voir qu'il existe une volonté supérieure, une force suprême qui déplace le monde et se déplace en nous, un être qui nous donne notre être, mais nos vies individuelles ont toujours un sens et un but uniques, même si elles ne sont que des parties du corps du corps. divinité, en tant que partie de l'entreprise de la conscience absolue, de la lumière infinie que le monde crée en jouant, comme le dit Badarayana lui-même, pour son propre plaisir.

Pour conclure, il ne nous reste plus qu'à dire que si le système non dual dual, que je n’ai pas pu rendre justice dans ce bref aperçu, est l’une des plus hautes lumières de l’histoire de la pensée et pourrait sembler le plus parfait de ces deux systèmes. Le système de Ramanuja a au moins l'avantage de permettre un état sotériologique dans lequel existe une forme de communion et de contemplation de la divinité, de l'extase et de la jouissance esthétique, dans lequel l'âme conserve une certaine qualité ontologique et ne se réduit pas à une réalité. unité dans laquelle il est difficile de prêcher une qualité positive. Le chemin de Shankara s'apparente davantage au chemin apophatique de grands mystiques tels que Dionysius l'Aréopagite et Meister Eckhart et celui de Ramanuja à celui de Saint Augustin, pour qui le but ultime de l'existence était la contemplation de Dieu dans la civitation Dei, avec un corps spirituel, dans le bonheur éternel.

Twitter de l'auteur: @alepholo

Bibliographie

JJ Lipner, Le monde en tant que corps de Dieu, à la recherche du dialogue avec Rāmānuja .

Les principales Upanisads, traduction et introduction de S. Radhakrishnan.

Les Vedanta Sutras, traduction de G. Thibaut.