books

Divit

On the important benefits of reading aloud

Reading aloud is a way to enrich reading and knowledge For thousands of years mankind did not know the reading in a low voice, but read or recited texts orally. It has been said that Aristotle had the rare ability to read books without having to use slaves to read aloud. St. Augustine was amazed that his teacher St

Divit

They find in Switzerland unpublished material of 'The Little Prince'

'The little prince' still has surprises for its readers The little prince , by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, is undoubtedly one of the most endearing books in the history of literature, perhaps because it oscillates gracefully between wisdom and tenderness, simplicity and depth, children's evocations and lessons vital.

Divit

Patti Smith recommends more than 40 books to inspire you intellectually and emotionally

The singer of "Because the Night" has not stopped browsing the literature to find those books that not only touch her heart but also involve an intellectual challenge Patricia Lee Smith, popularly known as Patti Smith, is a reference in the world of rock . He has become known as the "laureate punk poet" and his art as a basic component in the rock- punk movement in New York, in the US

Divit

Olga Tokarczuk and Peter Handke, recognized with the Nobel Prize for Literature

Olga Tokarczuk and Peter Handke join the history of the Nobel Prize for Literature On October 10, 2019 the Swedish Academy determined to grant the Nobel Prize for Literature to Olga Tokarczuk and Peter Handke, appointments that correspond to this year, in the case of Handke, and to the year 2018 in the case of Tokarczuk

Divit

5 bookstores that honor memory, beauty and other goodness of books

These libraries are the best example of everything that exists around the culture of the book Reading is, in addition to multiple, one of the main ways of access to creativity and knowledge. It is a tool that guarantees one of the most indispensable human expressions for survival: the history of humanity accessible to anyone through explanations, stories, poetry and more

Divit

JK Rowling's publisher will publish 4 books on the history of magic

Dark arts, herbology and divination will be some of the themes of these books on the history of magic that will soon be published by Pottermore With some frequency, some of the most celebrated works of literature are the result of a laborious and sometimes deep research process. It is true that certain writers perform this task for their own pleasure and it could be said that at the pace of their interests and curiosity, but even when this happens, in a somewhat freer way, if the time invested in the collection of information was measured, their systematization and its reuse, no doubt that calc

Divit

Frida Kahlo recounted the last 10 years of her life in this secret diary

An invaluable document that records both the subjectivity and creativity of Frida Kahlo The idea of ​​writing a newspaper is relatively recent in the cultural history of mankind. Although writing arose fundamentally from the need to keep a record, it was many centuries before such activity was devoted to subjectivity, the inner world and the individual perspective of reality that are characteristic of a person. Th

Divit

# Shakespeare2019, the opportunity to read 'Hamlet' collectively

One of the fundamental books of the Western literary imagination, 'Hamlet', is the subject of a collective reading on Twitter and other social networks April 23 is a significant date for lovers of books and literature, since for several decades it was spontaneously adopted as Book Day, after highlighting the coincidence on that day of the death of two of the most important authors of western literature: William Shakespeare and Miguel de Cervantes

Divit

The book, the most unique of all human inventions (a lecture by Jorge Luis Borges)

The books were decisive in the life of Jorge Luis Borges, hence he was able to deliver this loving speech that defines and praises them Between May 24 and June 25, 1978, Jorge Luis Borges offered a series of five conferences at the University of Belgrano, in Buenos Aires, Argentina, in which he addressed some of his favorite and recurring themes that, for those who know His work immediately identifies both the intellectual inclinations of the writer and his aesthetics

Divit

This scene from 'Game of Thrones' shows why reading and writing is so important

This sequence of 'Game of Thrones' offers a precise, if somewhat brutal, definition of the effect that reading has on our lives. In Pajama Surf we have published before some notes that could well be taken as praise for the culture of writing. Some time ago we glossed a passage by Carl Sagan about the exponential progress that language development brought to our civilization and recently we published this comment to a passage by the Fedro de Plato, on the subject of writing in relation to good, justice and beauty

Divit

10 books to understand '1994', the documentary about the year that changed to Mexico

A bibliographical selection to nurture the perspective around '1994', Diego Enrique Osorno's documentary about one of the most convulsive times in Mexico A few days ago, the Netflix platform premiered a documentary series entitled 1994 , directed by Diego Enrique Osorno and which presents in five episodes a reading of one of the most convulsive times in recent Mexican history

Divit

The book Julian Assange had when he was arrested, an undercover message?

At the time of his arrest, Assange came out with a book in his hands, an eloquent title that could be a silent statement Yesterday Julian Assange was finally arrested at the residence of the Ecuadorian embassy in London, after almost 7 years of having arrived there in search of asylum and protection

Divit

NYT publishes book recommendation of David Icke, the man who believes that space reptiles control the world (and rains criticism)

Alice Walker, Pulitzer winner, recommends a book by David Icke in the 'New York Times' and burns Twitter 5 days ago the New York Times , considered one of the most prestigious mass newspapers in the United States, published an interview with author Alice Walker, in which she mentioned that she was reading the author's book The and the Truth Shall Set You Free British David Icke

Divit

Karl Lagerfeld was a great reader and book collector: this is what he liked to read

Lagerfeld's impressive book collection Karl Lagerfeld, the recently deceased fashion designer, is described as a legend in his field of work, certainly unmistakable for his style and personality, which caused him to be called "the kaiser." Although, seeing it and admiring its collections for Chanel or other brands, one can easily guess that Lagerfeld was a special, highly original type, and even perceive his intelligence, we are surprised to discover that he was a voracious reader and perhaps one of the greatest Book collectors in the world

Divit

The power of not wanting and not doing: key passages of 'Tao Te Ching' commented by Ursula K. Le Guin

The 'Tao Te Ching' is a spirit classic, a river that flows below all the rivers, and will never cease to be in force. The Tao Te Ching is undoubtedly one of the great treasures of world wisdom and one of the most enigmatic and profound books ever conceived. Their influence is unquantifiable and with the passage of time the versions that have been made, and their comments, become almost innumerable

Divit

The 25 classic books of the spiritual life of the West (I: from Antiquity to Modernity)

A list that pretends to be a canon or a curriculum for the study of the spiritual tradition of the West and the cultivation of the soul that is oriented towards the divine The list that we present below seeks to approach what could be a canon of spiritual life in the West, taking fundamentally from the two great channels that intermingle in Western culture: Greek philosophy (mainly, Platonism and its avatars) and the Christianity

Divit

A beautiful children's book to better understand sadness

An admirable metaphor about the place that sadness can have in our lives Of all the emotional states that human beings can experience, none as misunderstood as discomfort, in all its forms. Especially in the era in which we live, the discomfort tends to be lived with distancing, as if it were something that we know happens to us but that we prefer to ignore, to do as it does not happen, or that it is not oneself that it affects

Divit

10 books to learn to think and form your own criteria

Most of us never ask ourselves the question of whether we can think because, as we always do, we assume that we do it well. Good sense is the best distributed thing in the world, because everyone thinks they have such a good supply of it, that even the most dissatisfied with regard to anything else do not usually want more than they already have

Divit

This is the effect of growing up in a house where there are books

When reading becomes a habit of life, its effects are as important as school education. Why are books so important in life? If the answer to this question were obvious, reading would be an exercise as daily and recurring as checking Facebook or watching a series on Netflix. However, we know well that it is not so

Divit

Did Carlos Castaneda fool everyone? New biography argues that Don Juan never existed

The researcher Manuel Carballal maintains that he denied the story of Carlos Castaneda and his Yaqui sorcerer. It is difficult to think of someone more influential in modern spirituality, particularly the so-called new age, than Carlos Castaneda, the Peruvian anthropologist who created a series of bestsellers recounting his encounters with the mythical Yaqui sorcerer Don Juan Matus

livres

Divit

Sur les avantages importants de la lecture à voix haute

Lire à voix haute est un moyen d'enrichir la lecture et la connaissance Pendant des milliers d'années, l'humanité ne savait pas lire à voix basse, mais lisait ou récitait des textes oralement. Il a été dit qu'Aristote avait la capacité rare de lire des livres sans avoir à utiliser des esclaves pour lire à haute voix. Saint Au

Divit

Ils trouvent en Suisse des documents inédits sur "Le Petit Prince"

"Le petit prince" a encore des surprises pour ses lecteurs Le petit prince d'Antoine de Saint-Exupéry est sans aucun doute l'un des livres les plus attachants de l'histoire de la littérature, peut-être parce qu'il oscille avec grâce entre sagesse et tendresse, simplicité et profondeur, évocations et leçons d'enfants vital. Eh bi

Divit

Patti Smith recommande plus de 40 livres pour vous inspirer intellectuellement et émotionnellement

La chanteuse de "Parce que la nuit" n'a pas cessé de parcourir la littérature pour trouver ces livres qui ne touchent pas que son coeur, mais comportent également un défi intellectuel Patricia Lee Smith, plus connue sous le nom de Patti Smith, est une référence dans le monde du rock . Il e

Divit

Olga Tokarczuk et Peter Handke, récompensés par le prix Nobel de littérature

Olga Tokarczuk et Peter Handke rejoignent l'histoire du prix Nobel de littérature Le 10 octobre 2019, l'Académie suédoise a décidé d'accorder le prix Nobel de littérature à Olga Tokarczuk et à Peter Handke, nominations correspondant à cette année dans le cas de Handke et à l'année 2018 dans le cas de Tokarczuk. N'oubl

Divit

5 librairies qui honorent la mémoire, la beauté et les autres bienfaits des livres

Ces bibliothèques sont le meilleur exemple de tout ce qui existe autour de la culture du livre. La lecture est, en plus des multiples, l’un des principaux moyens d’accéder à la créativité et au savoir. C’est un outil qui garantit l’une des expressions humaines les plus indispensables à la survie: l’histoire de l’humanité accessible à tous par des explications, des récits, de la poésie, etc. Carl Sagan a déclaré

Divit

L'éditeur de JK Rowling publiera 4 livres sur l'histoire de la magie

Arts sombres, l'herboristerie et la divination seront quelques-uns des thèmes de ces livres sur l'histoire de la magie qui seront bientôt publiés par Pottermore Certaines œuvres littéraires parmi les plus célèbres sont fréquemment le résultat d'un processus de recherche laborieux et parfois approfondi. Il est

Divit

Frida Kahlo a raconté les 10 dernières années de sa vie dans ce journal secret

Un document précieux qui enregistre à la fois la subjectivité et la créativité de Frida Kahlo L’idée d’écrire un journal est relativement récente dans l’histoire culturelle de l’humanité. Bien que l'écriture découle fondamentalement de la nécessité de conserver une trace écrite, de nombreux siècles se sont écoulés avant qu'une telle activité soit consacrée à la subjectivité, au monde intérieur et à la perspective individuelle de la réalité qui caractérisent une personne. Les idées d'identité, d'

Divit

# Shakespeare2019, l'occasion de lire collectivement 'Hamlet'

Hamlet, l'un des ouvrages fondamentaux de l'imaginaire littéraire occidental, fait l'objet d'une lecture collective sur Twitter et d'autres réseaux sociaux. Le 23 avril est une date marquante pour les amateurs de livres et de littérature puisque depuis plusieurs décennies, il a été spontanément adopté comme la Journée du livre, après avoir mis en évidence la coïncidence de la mort de deux des auteurs les plus importants. de la litt

Divit

Le livre, la plus unique de toutes les inventions humaines (conférence de Jorge Luis Borges)

Les livres ont été décisifs dans la vie de Jorge Luis Borges, ce qui lui a permis de prononcer ce discours affectueux qui les définit et les loue. Entre le 24 mai et le 25 juin 1978, Jorge Luis Borges a organisé une série de cinq conférences à l'Université de Belgrano, à Buenos Aires, en Argentine, dans lesquelles il a abordé certains de ses thèmes favoris et récurrents qui, pour ceux qui connaissent Son travail identifie immédiatement les inclinations intellectuelles de l'écrivain et son esthétique. Le temps, l

Divit

Cette scène de 'Game of Thrones' montre pourquoi la lecture et l'écriture sont si importantes

Cette séquence de «Game of Thrones» offre une définition précise, bien que quelque peu brutale, de l’effet de la lecture sur nos vies. Dans Pyjama Surf, nous avons déjà publié quelques notes qui pourraient être considérées comme un éloge de la culture de l'écriture. Il y a quelque temps, nous avons dissimulé un passage de Carl Sagan sur les progrès exponentiels que le développement du langage a apporté à notre civilisation. Nous avons récemme

Divit

10 livres à comprendre '1994', le documentaire sur l'année qui a changé au Mexique

Une sélection bibliographique pour nourrir la perspective autour de '1994', le documentaire de Diego Enrique Osorno sur l'une des périodes les plus convulsives du Mexique Il y a quelques jours, la plate-forme Netflix a présenté une série de documentaires intitulée 1994 , dirigée par Diego Enrique Osorno et qui présente, dans cinq épisodes, une lecture d'une des périodes les plus convulsives de l'histoire récente du Mexique. L'ann

Divit

Le livre que Julian Assange avait quand il a été arrêté, un message d'infiltration?

Au moment de son arrestation, Assange est sorti avec un livre à la main, un titre éloquent qui pourrait être une déclaration silencieuse Hier, Julian Assange a finalement été arrêté à la résidence de l’ambassade de l’Équateur à Londres, après presque sept ans d’arrivée dans cette ville en quête d’asile et de protection. Comme on le sait, les

Divit

Le NYT publie une recommandation de livre de David Icke, l'homme qui croit que les reptiles de l'espace contrôlent le monde (et qu'il pleut des critiques)

Alice Walker, lauréate du prix Pulitzer, recommande un livre de David Icke dans le «New York Times» et grave Twitter Il y a 5 jours, le New York Times , considéré comme l'un des journaux de masse les plus prestigieux aux États-Unis, a publié une interview de l'auteur Alice Walker dans laquelle elle mentionnait qu'elle lisait le livre de l'auteur, The and the Truth, qui vous rendra libre. Brita

Divit

Karl Lagerfeld était un grand lecteur et collectionneur de livres: c'est ce qu'il aimait lire

La collection de livres impressionnante de Lagerfeld Karl Lagerfeld, le créateur de mode récemment décédé, est décrit comme une légende dans son domaine de travail, indéniablement reconnaissable pour son style et sa personnalité, qui lui a valu d'être surnommé "le kaiser". Même si, en le voyant et en admirant ses collections pour Chanel ou d’autres marques, on peut facilement deviner que Lagerfeld était un type spécial, très original, et même percevoir son intelligence, nous sommes surpris de découvrir qu’il était un lecteur vorace et peut-être un des plus grands Collectionneurs d

Divit

Le pouvoir de ne pas vouloir et de ne pas faire: des passages clés de 'Tao Te Ching' commentés par Ursula K. Le Guin

Le «Tao Te Ching» est un classique de l'esprit, une rivière qui coule au-dessous de toutes les rivières et ne cessera jamais d'être en vigueur. Le Tao Te Ching est sans aucun doute l'un des plus grands trésors de la sagesse mondiale et l'un des livres les plus énigmatiques et les plus profonds jamais conçus. Leur i

Divit

Les 25 livres classiques de la vie spirituelle occidentale (I: de l'Antiquité à la modernité)

Une liste qui prétend être un canon ou un programme d'étude de la tradition spirituelle de l'Occident et de la culture de l'âme orientée vers le divin La liste que nous présentons ci-dessous cherche à aborder ce qui pourrait être un canon de la vie spirituelle en Occident, en s’inspirant fondamentalement des deux grands canaux qui se mêlent à la culture occidentale: la philosophie grecque (principalement le platonisme et ses avatars) et Christianisme Par vie spirituelle, nous nous référons à l’aspect pratique, moral et contemplatif de la philosophie et de la théologie et non à l’asp

Divit

Un beau livre pour enfants pour mieux comprendre la tristesse

Une métaphore admirable sur la place que la tristesse peut avoir dans nos vies De tous les états émotionnels que peuvent vivre les êtres humains, aucun n’est aussi incompris que le malaise, sous toutes ses formes. En particulier à l’époque où nous vivons, le malaise a tendance à être vécu avec distanciation, comme si c’était quelque chose que nous savions nous arriver mais que nous préférions ignorer, faire comme cela n’arrivait pas, ou que ce n’était pas nous-même que cela affectait. Comment se peut-il que

Divit

10 livres pour apprendre à penser et former vos propres critères

La plupart d'entre nous ne nous posons jamais la question de savoir si nous pouvons penser car, comme toujours, nous supposons que nous le faisons bien. Le bon sens est la chose la mieux distribuée au monde, car tout le monde pense en avoir une si bonne réserve que même les plus insatisfaits de toute autre chose ne veulent généralement pas plus qu'ils n'en ont déjà. Dans

Divit

C'est l'effet de grandir dans une maison où il y a des livres

Lorsque la lecture devient une habitude de vie, ses effets sont aussi importants que l’éducation scolaire. Pourquoi les livres sont-ils si importants dans la vie? Si la réponse à cette question était évidente, la lecture serait un exercice aussi quotidien et récurrent que celui de consulter Facebook ou de regarder une série sur Netflix. Cependa

Divit

Carlos Castaneda a-t-il dupé tout le monde? Nouvelle biographie affirme que Don Juan n'a jamais existé

Le chercheur Manuel Carballal affirme avoir démenti l'histoire de Carlos Castaneda et de son sorcier Yaqui. Il est difficile de penser à quelqu'un de plus influent dans la spiritualité moderne, en particulier le soi-disant nouvel âge, que l'anthropologue péruvien Carlos Castaneda, qui a créé une série de best-sellers relatant ses rencontres avec le mythique sorcier Yaqui Don Juan Matus. Nous d